One kilogram of chestnuts is one of my impulse buyings when I went to Vic market last Friday (the others are red long chillies and chocolate brioche :P). The chestnuts I got were very big and only AUD10 a kilo!! I already know what to do with them when buying them. Roast them, of course!

In Melbourne city area, on the side of the road or near the intersection, the roast chestnuts sellers emerge during this season (autumn/ winter). They roasted the chestnuts in front of you on a small and portable grill. The smell of roasting chestnuts is so oh-la-la. Whenever I walked past them, it always makes me want to get a little paper bag filled with them. The price for a handful of roasted chestnuts is quite dear, tho. It’s like AUD3.50 or something *sigh…*

I never really know how to correctly roast them. I tried roasting them a couple of times a long while ago; I thought it was ok, but the peeling of the chestnuts can indeed be a nightmare. Before, I actually peeled them when I am about to eat them; i.e. that can be when they are already cold. I did my research on the Internet on how to roast chestnuts in the oven. The most important things are you cut a cross on each chestnut to allow the steam to escape during roasting (otherwise they can explode!) and that you must peel them when they are still warm (including the inner thin skin layer), otherwise they will be impossible to peel. There you go! Peel them when they are still warm.

So I did all that and still found peeling chestnuts is incredibly hard. Some chestnuts are easy, but the others are like impossible to peel the inner thin skin layer; it stubbornly sticks on the nuts. So we ended up breaking a lot of chestnuts during the peeling process and some we just need to bit the chestnut off from its thin skin. I don’t entirely mind this – Yum! :P. We still managed to get some intact peeled roast chestnuts for the photos. The peeled roast chestnuts did not stay around for too long. They are soo sweet and yummy!

If anyone know some tips to peel the chestnuts more easily, please kindly enough let me know 🙂

Roast chestnuts

(from ‘Taste.com.au’ on how to roast chestnuts in the oven)

  • 1 kg chestnuts

Step 1. Preheat the oven to 200°C. Rinse the chestnuts, drain and dry well. Cut an X on one side of each chestnut using a sharp knife all the way through the skin to allow the steam to escape.

Step 2. Arrange the chestnuts on a baking tray with the cut sides up. Roast for 10 minutes, then turn the chestnuts to the other side and roast for a further 10 minutes.

Step 3. Place the chestnuts in a bowl and cover with tea towel. Peel the chestnuts as soon as you can handle them, including the inner thin skin. They will be very difficult to peel once cold (Trust me!). Place the peeled chestnuts in a jar or bowl and enjoy 🙂

xxx,
Inge

