I miss a chunky, thick and juicy beef steak… The last time I had beef steak was over 2 years ago I think, at Squires Loft Steakhouse in the city. It was quite pricy there…, you have to pay for the sauce too… But it was a good sauce though (I ordered black pepper sauce). I think the quality of the sauce is as important as the steak itself.

I wanted to attempt to cook beef steak my own, so I bought 2 pieces of thick cut beef scotch fillet (around 1 inch thick) at Vic market. It is very important to get a good quality beef, so when it is cooked, you will get a nice, tender and juicy steak.

For the sauce, originally I wanted to make green peppercorn sauce (from Donna Hay magazine), but I couldn’t find the canned green peppercorn. I tried the supermarket and also Vic market, but they don’t have it. Anyone knows where to get it?
So, I decided to make red wine sauce for the steak (also from Donna Hay magazine). Beef and red wine are really a good couple! It is a very easy sauce to make. The sauce is actually the marinade for the steak, and after we cook the steak, the marinade is reduced to make the sauce.

I served the steak with classic roasted potato and steamed green beans. It’s a pretty wintery dish, which suited Melbourne’s weather last night. It was around 20ºC, windy and chilly.

For the roast potatoes, I followed Donna Hay’ recipe and I reckon they are the best roast potatoes ever… They are crunchy on the outside and soft in the centre. I don’t think I would roast potatoes any other way…

Beef steak with red wine sauce

(adapted from Donna Hay magazine, Feb/Mar 2010 issue 49)

(served 2)

  • 2 beef scotch fillets
  • ¼ cup red wine
  • 2 crushed garlic cloves
  • 1 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 large brushed potatoes
  • 150 gr green beans, steamed

Step 1. Combine red wine, garlic, rosemary, oil, salt and pepper in a bowl and marinate the steaks for 30 minutes.

Marinate the steaks for 30 mins

Step 2. Preheat the oven to 200ºC. Peel the potatoes and chop each into 6 or 8. Place the chopped potatoes in a saucepan and cover with cold water. Put about 1 teaspoon of salt in the saucepan. Heat over medium fire, bring to boil and simmer for 10 minutes or so until the potatoes are tender. Drain well, place them back into the saucepan and shake the saucepan to make the potatoes fluffy around the edges (This is very important to make the potatoes crunchy :))

Boiled potatoes - fluffy around the edges

Step 3. Put the cooked potatoes onto a baking tray lined with baking paper and drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper. Put the tray into the oven and roast for about 20 minutes or until golden brown. Turn the potatoes half way through the cooking.

Step 4. Heat olive oil in a non-stick frying pan over medium fire. Cook the beef steaks for 3 – 4 minutes each side (to your liking).  Place the steaks in a plate to rest. Pour the marinade into the same pan and let it simmer for 1 minute.

Pan fry the steaks

Step 5. Serve the beef steak with roast potatoes and steamed green beans and pour the sauce over the steak.

Beef steak with red wine sauce served with roast potatoes and green beans

Don’t forget a glass of red wine to accompany your steak :). Cabernet Sauvignon is best to pair the beef.

xxx,
Inge

