January is summer in Australia. But today in Melbourne, it’s 20ºC maximum and raining. It’s freezing this morning…

I thought a cup of hot chocolate would be nice for this kind of weather. There are many drinking chocolate mix in the supermarket that you can just simply add hot water to make a cup of hot chocolate. But I don’t really fancy them, especially after I watched the Nigella Lawson’s show on Foxtel a while back, where she made hot chocolate using milk, chocolate, cinnamon and also golden syrup I think. So, this recipe is inspired by Nigella, but this is the light version, I suppose.

I have made this for a number of times, and I didn’t normally measure the quantity of each ingredient. But finally I got them measured up so I can share this in my blog. This is by far a better hot chocolate than the drinking chocolate mix.

I usually keep a block of dark chocolate in my fridge (I usually bought Cadbury Old Gold 70% Cocoa). It’s handy to have them to make a variety of drinks or snacks.

Dark chocolate has been correlated with health benefits from the level of anti-oxidants it contains. The higher the cocoa content, the higher the anti-oxidants (Heart Food the Healthy Heart Cookbook by Veronica Cuskelly and Nicole Senior, 2008)

Hot chocolate

(inspired by Nigella Lawson)

(serves 2)

  • 2 cups of low fat milk. I used soy milk.
  • 6 cubes of dark chocolate (from Cadbury Old Gold 70% Cocoa block)
  • 2 tablespoons of honey
  • ½ teaspoon of cinnamon ground

Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan and heat over a small fire. Whisk continously until it is about to boil. Pour into 2 cups and serve.

xxx,
Inge

