One of my fave breakfast dishes is fried egg. Fried, scrambled, sunny-side up or omelette served with toast, bacon, tomato, mushroom, spinach or baked beans… whatever you fancy.

The omelette I often make was inspired by the omelette I had in Marriot hotel, Jakarta. I stayed there for about 3 months during my work assignment in Jakarta. I had the buffet breakfast in the hotel every morning and loved the omelette they serve. The chefs cooked them in front of the guests. And after 3 months I saw them making the omelettes, it would be so wrong if I can’t make it myself, wouldn’t it?

Be creative with the ingredients to compliment the egg; diced tomato, diced mushroom, diced bacon, diced capsicum, etc.. This morning I made the omelette with diced tomato, chopped parsley and grated parmesan.

Omelette
(serves 2)

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 ripe tomato
  • 2 tablespoons grated parmesan
  • 1 tablespoon chopped parsley

Ingredients for omelette

Step 1. Cut the tomato into 8 wedges and discard the seeds. Dice the wedges.

Step 2. Crack the eggs into a bowl, add chopped parsley, season with salt and pepper and beat lightly.

Step 3. Heat a drizzle of olive oil in a small non-stick frying pan over small fire. Pour half of the egg mixture onto the pan, add half of the diced tomato, leave for about 10 seconds, then lightly scramble the egg and fry for about 10 seconds.

Pour the egg onto the pan

Add chopped tomato to the egg mixture

Lightly scramble the egg

Step 4. Push the egg to half of the pan, scatter 1 tablespoon of cheese on top of half of the egg, then fold the other half of the egg on top of the cheese.

Scatter the cheese on top of half the egg

Fold the egg

Step 5. Fry the egg for about 30 seconds or until golden brown, turn over and fry for another 30 seconds or until golden brown. Do the same for the remaining ingredients.

Fry the omelette until golden brown

Omelette

xxx,
Inge

