Dinner for tonight was a very simple pan-fried salmon and roast potato dish. Another healthy version of fish and chips 😀

Salmon is another one of the best superfoods, it contains omega-3 fats and high in protein (Heart Food, the Healthy Heart Cookbook). The quality of salmon is also fantastic in Australia. I simply pan-fried the salmon with salt and pepper, and drizzle with lemon juice before serving.

For the potato, I did the same thing as in the previous fish and chips I made. I used brushed potato this time, so I peel them and chop them thickly.

Potato chips ready to roast

Pan-fried salmon

(serves 4)

  • 2 x 300gr salmon fillets or 4 x 150gr salmon fillets. I used 2 x 300gr fillets here
  • salt and black pepper
  • olive oil
  • 1 lemon

Step 1. Season the salmon fillets with salt and plenty of black pepper, especially on the skin-side.

Step 2. Heat a frying pan over a medium heat. Add a little bit of olive oil. Fry the salmon skin-side down for about 5 minutes until the skin is brown and crispy.

Step 3. Turn the fish and fry for about 1 minute. Transfer to a plate.

Step 4. Rest the fish for 2 minutes before serving. To serve, cut the fillet into 2, drizzle with lemon juice and serve with the potato and salad.

Salmon fillets

After 5 minutes, the skin is crispy

I have a jar of peppercorn sauce in the fridge so I served the fish and chips with it this time. The natural yogurt would be an ideal complement to this dish too 🙂

Pan-fried salmon and potato

xxx,

Inge

