I don’t cook lamb meat often, mainly because it can be quite fatty and also I don’t really know how to cook them. Well, I thought I’d give it a go this week. I looked at a few magazines and one recipe caught my eyes, it is very easy to prepare and also because I already have all the other ingredients. The lamb cuts I chose are the rump steaks and cutlets.

As the side dish for the lamb, I chose to make a couscous dish to balance the strong flavour of the lamb (and also the fat :P).

Orange-walnut couscous

adapted from Healthy Food Guide magazine, Nov 2009 (www.healthyfoodguide.com.au)
(serves 4)

  • 3/4 cup couscous
  • 3/4 cup boiling water
  • 1 chicken stock cube
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped fresh coriander leaves
  • 2 tablespoons walnuts, chopped
  • 1 orange, segmented
  • grated orange rind from 1 orange

Step 1. Place couscous into a heatproof bowl. Dissolve chicken stock cube in boiling water. Pour the chicken stock + water into the couscous. Cover and stand for 5 minutes.

Step 2. Stir with a fork to separate grains.

Step 3. Add all other ingredients. Stir to combine.

Orange-walnut couscous is ready


Minted Lamb

Lamb marinate recipe adapted from Donna Hay Magazine (Oct/ Nov 2008 issue 41) – http://www.donnahay.com.au

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup malt vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh mint leaves

I use the marinate above for 6 pieces of lamb rump steaks and 9 cutlets.

Step 1. Combine all the above and pour over the lambs. Place the lambs and marinate in a container and then refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

Tips: I marinate the lambs over the weekend and put the container in the freezer. Put the container in the fridge 1 day before you plan to cook them to thaw.

Step 2. To pan fry the lamb, put a little amount of olive oil to the frying pan and heat over medium heat.

Step 3. Cook lambs in batches, turning, for 6-8 minutes or until cooked as desired.


I am quite happy with how the lamb turned out, but I overcooked it a little bit :(. But it tastes nice, the sugar in the marinate is caramelised and give a nice flavour to the lamb. I am very very happy with the couscous, this is the best couscous recipe I have ever tried 🙂 The orange in the couscous is very refreshing, it has walnuts too (walnut is good for the brain!).

Minted lamb with orange-walnut couscous

xxx,

Inge

